Twitter recently added a new feature that has long existed on Facebook, Whatsapp, and even iOS messenger: read receipts. This means that when you send someone a Direct Message, you will be able to see when they have opened it. But like on Facebook, Whatsapp, and iOS messenger — you can opt out of that feature.

There is one exception: if you have opted to received Direct Messages from anyone on Twitter, read receipts will not appear on messages received from people you don’t follow (only if you start the conversation). Read receipts are also only viewable in the iOS and Android apps for the time being.

The setting is enabled by default, so if you don’t want everyone to know when you’ve read their messages, here’s how to disable it.

Twitter Messages

Go to Settings > Privacy and Content > Direct Messages > Send/Receive Read Receipts. iOS users can toggle the feature, and Android or web users can uncheck the option. When making the change through the web interface, you will be prompted to enter your password.

Disabling Read Receipts means you won’t be able to tell when someone sees your messages as well. If you choose to keep them enabled, you’ll be able to retroactively see if your messages have been read by your contacts. Read receipts appear as little check marks next to the timestamp related to the message.

Are you going to disable or enable read receipts in Twitter? Let us know why in the comments.

There are no comments yet